Club owners finally cast votes over cancellation of NPFL 19/20 season

Following different submissions and counter views of stakeholders on social media in recent times on the best possible way to end the 2019/2020 league season, club owners of the twenty clubs of Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) have ended the voting session to determine whether to end the league or not, according to reports from

According to a source, he claimed that while the voting was ongoing, the first confirmation was that there won’t be anything called Super 6 for this season.

Another point for consideration was that the three clubs to represent the country at the continental level must be determined at the end of PPGA.

From the results of the votes, seventeen club owners out of twenty voted in favor of cancellation whilst the remaining three want the league to continue from where it stopped.
Rangers and Akwa United all strongly voted against the cancellation of the league season while Lobi stars FC instead abstained from voting because they claimed that they don’t believe in the PPG idea.

The seventeen clubs that voted are:

  1. Kwara United FC
  2. Kano Pillars FC
  3. Katsina United FC
  4. Jigawa Golden stars FC
  5. Adamawa Utd FC
  6. Wikki Tourist FC
  7. MFM FC
  8. Sunshine stars FC
  9. Enyimba FC
  10. Warri Wolves FC
  11. Abia Warriors FC
  12. Nasarawa United FC
  14. Dakada Intl FC
  15. Heartland FC
  16. Rivers Utd FC
  17. Plateau United FC

The top three clubs will represent Nigeria at CAF competitions via the PPG table. There will be no relegation and no promotion.

Source: Sports Embassy


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here